Yates’ Waiting Game Pays Dividends in Tour of Britain

Yates’ Waiting Game Pays Dividends in Tour of Britain

Simon Yates moved up into a podium position in The Tour of Britain with
victory on Dartmoor in The Tour of Britain’s first ever summit finish at

Yates outsprinted Martin Elmiger, who moved up to second place overall,
and Sky’s David Lopez, as an elite group of nine riders contested the
stage win in Devon, including Sir Bradley Wiggins among their number.

“From my position I couldn’t really dictate anything so I had to wait and wait” – Simon Yates

Wiggins retains his hold on the IG Gold Jersey, although his lead is
slimmed to just 31 seconds over Elmiger, after the Swiss rider finished
five seconds up on Wiggins.  Ian Stannard lost his second place
overall, dropping to seventh after finishing 20th on the stage.

“From my position I couldn’t really dictate anything so I had to wait
and wait and wait”, said Simon Yates afterwards.  “Slowly, slowly
people were slipping off the back and the attacks from (Nairo) Quintana
and Dan Martin and such whittled it down so I could enjoy the moment as
we came to the line.”

After initial attacks from Martin and Quintana on the lower slopes of
Haytor the Sky led group came back together at the front entering the
final two kilometres, with Wiggins setting the pace on the front.

“I decided not to be too greedy and just focus on the jersey more than anything really” – Sir Bradley Wiggins

As the road once again rose inside the final kilometre MTN Qhubeka’s
Sergio Pardilla and Bardiani Valvole CSF Inox’s Francesco Manuel
Bongiorno both tried to break clear, but the steep final pitches
nullified their moves.  As the group stretched out it was Elmiger who
went clear, with Lopez following and looking set to repeat his ENECO
Tour win on La Redoute last month until Yates surged past with enough
speed to carry him two seconds clear of the duo.

Wiggins crossed the line seventh, keeping the IG Gold Jersey going into
a fourth day of racing and was pleased with how the South West stage had

“It was actually pretty good, it was a short stage with good weather.
We seemed to be in control most of the day and then it pretty much all
came down to the final climb really.  The team took the strain and then
it was just a case of time trialling to the top for me really.”

The 2012 Tour de France champion also admitted he’d considered going for
the win on Dartmoor.

“I did at one point but then I decided not to be too greedy and just
focus on the jersey more than anything really.  I should have won
yesterday really thinking about it, but again the priority is always the
GC when you’re in the jersey.”

Stage Six, Sidmouth to Haytor, Dartmoor, Brief Results
1)    Simon Yates, GBR, Great Britain, 3:24:44
2)    Martin Elmiger, SUI, IAM Cycling, + 0.02
3)    David Lopez, ESP, Sky Pro Cycling, st
4)    Sergio Pardilla, ESP, MTN Qhubeka, + 0.05
5)    Sebastien Reichenbach, IAM Cycling, st
6)    Nairo Quintana, COL, Movistar, + 0.07
7)    Sir Bradley Wiggins, GBR, Sky Pro Cycling, st
8)    Francesco Manuel Bongiorno, ITA, Bardiani Valvole CSF Inox, +
9)    Marcel Wyss, SUI, IAM Cycling, st
10)    Evaldas Siskevicius, LTU, Sojasun, + 0.31

IG General Classification, post-Stage Six
1)    Sir Bradley Wiggins, GBR, Sky Pro Cycling, 24:10:56
2)    Martin Elmiger, SUI, IAM Cycling, + 0.32
3)    Simon Yates, GBR, Great Britain, + 1.06
4)    David Lopez, ESP, Sky Pro Cycling, + 1.08
5)    Sergio Pardilla, ESP,  MTN Qhubeka, + 1.16

Chain Reaction Cycles Points Classification, post-Stage Six
1)    Martin Elmiger, SUI, IAM Cycling, 48pts
2)    Simon Yates, GBR, Great Britain, 37pts
3)    Sam Bennett, IRL, AN Post Chain Reaction, 35pts

SKODA King of the Mountains Classification, post-Stage Six
1)    Angel Madrazo, SPA, Movistar, 72pts
2)    Nairo Quintana, COL, Movistar, 31pts
3)    Sean Downey, IRL, AN Post Chain Reaction, 28pts

Yodel Direct Sprints Classification, post-Stage Six
1)    Angel Madrazo, SPA, Movistar, 30pts
2)    Aaron Gate, NZL, AN Post Chain Reaction, 18pts
3)    Tom Scully, NZL, Team Raleigh, 13pts

Under-23 Rider Classification, post-Stage Six
1)    Simon Yates, GBR, Great Britain, 24:12:02
2)    Alistair Slater, GBR, Great Britain, + 9.40
3)    Tom Moses, GBR, Team Raleigh, 12:57

Team Classification, post-Stage Six
1)    Sky Pro Cycling, 72:35:35
2)    IAM Cycling, + 1:09
3)    Sojasun, + 6:39

For full Stage Six results and standings, please visit the Tour website.

Pictures from the race will be added soon and will be in our next edition: SSD15 – Dec/Jan

Bradley Wiggins image published under Creative Commons Licence cc-by-2.0. Photograph owner: Petit Brun

Post a Comment

FOLLOW US ON... ...& don't forget to tag your posts @SportSouthDevon